Home > Family > Wedding Speech

Wedding Speech

My brother got married yesterday and our dad spoke on behalf of the family, but this is what I would have said had I thought it appropriate:

“There are nine years between my brother Nic and I. When I became old enough to be able to play with him, he was in his teenage years and old enough to think it un-cool to play with one’s younger sister. When he wasn’t home – perhaps at scouts or practicing in his band, ‘pseudo-genius’ – I would sneak into his room, when it was safe enough to do so, open the drawer compartment in his bed and fish out his lego space ship, his star wars and Lion-O figurines or his transformer cars that he kept in a blue clip-top container. Later, this would extend to books, or computer games such as Sam and Max or Chips. When I knew he would surely be returning home, I would put the items back in their places and pretend as if I’d never stepped foot in the room, even going so far, sometimes, as to walk backwards out of the room, thinking this would erase any possible trace that I had been there.. but, he always knew, like some sort of fun detective, and his response was always the same: “don’t touch that, Sophia! You’ll break it!” or “did you go into my room?!” I denied it, of course.

The first time I realised Nic and Nadya had something really special going on, Nadya had just broken Nic’s laptop. Anyone who knows Nic, know that computing is a large part of his life, so I waited for what I thought were the inevitable words “don’t touch my stuff!” but they never came. And to this day, though Nadya admitted a glass of water may have played a part in the crisis, he hasn’t said it. And that’s why I know Nic has found someone special enough that he is willing to share his stuff with. I look forward to when this includes a little niece or nephew for me to play games with, and Nic, I promise I won’t break them. To Nic and Nadya, I love you both. To love, family and sharing!”

Categories: Family Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

